

STUDENT ELECTION COMMISSION

Office of the Dean (Students)

INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MADRAS

Chennai 600 036

Phone: [044] 2257 8051 || Email: dostoffice@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Ratna Kumar Annabattula

Dr. Sriram Venkatachalam

Chief Election Officer Email: ratna@iitm.ac.in Deputy Election Officer
Email: vsriram@iitm.ac.in

Date:01/02/2021

ELECTION OF STUDENTS' REPRESENTATIVES 2021

Date of Election: 07 April 2021, Wednesday

Elections of Hostel representatives and special elections to the posts in the Executive Council, the Student Legislative Council (SLC), and the Hostel Councils are hereby called for.

Nominations are invited for the following posts from eligible students.

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL				
Name of the Post	Positions	Electorate		
ACADEMIC AFFAIRS SECRETARY	1	BTech., Dual Degree, MSc., MBA, HS students (taught programme)		
RESEARCH AFFAIRS SECRETARY	1	MS and PhD Scholars		
COCURRICULAR AFFAIRS AFFAIRS SECRETARY	1	General Student Body		
CULTURAL AFFAIRS SECRETARY (ARTS)	1	General Student Body		
CULTURAL AFFAIRS SECRETARY (LITERARY)	1	General Student Body		
INTERNATIONAL AND ALUMNI RELATIONS SECRETARY	1	General Student Body		
SPORTS SECRETARY (INSTITUTE)	1	General Student Body		
HOSTEL AFFAIRS SECRETARY	1	General Student Body		
STUDENTS' GENERAL SECRETARY	1	General Student Body		
SPEAKER, SLC*	1	Legislators		



STUDENT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL			
DEPARTMENT LEGISLATOR (ACADEMIC)	Electorate		
One position in following departments AE, BT, CE, CH, CS, CY, ED, EE, EP, HS, MS, MA, ME, MM, OE, PH	BTech., Dual Degree, MSc., MBA, HS (taught programme) students of respective departments		
DEPARTMENT LEGISLATOR (RESEARCH)	Electorate		
One position in following departments AE, AM, BT, CE, CH, CS, CY, ED, EE, HS, MS, MA, ME, MM, OE, PH	MS and PhD Scholars of the respective departments		
MTECH LEGISLATORS	Electorate		
4 POSTS	Mtech students across all departments		

SCHEDULE FOR ELECTIONS

8. General Elections		07.04.2021, Wednesday
7. Campaign Period	То	06.03.2021, Tuesday, 5:00 pm
7 Compaign Pariod	From	24.03.2021, Wednesday, 10:00 am
6. Manifesto submission deadline		23.03.2021, Tuesday, 5:00 pm
5. Announcement of Final Nominations		13.03.2021, Saturday
4. Complaints, duly signed		03.03.2021, Wednesday,
3. Announcement of valid nominations		01.03.2021, Monday, 5:00 pm
2. Last date for withdrawal of nominations		28.02.2021, Sunday, 11:00 pm
1.Online submission of Nomination	То	27.02.2021, Saturday 11:00 pm
	From	22.02.2021, Monday



SCHEDULE FOR SPEAKER ELECTIONS(Tentative)

1 Online submission of Newsinstian	From	13.04.2021 Tuesday 10:00pm
1.Online submission of Nomination	То	16.04.2021 Friday 5:00 pm
2. Last date for withdrawal of nominations		16.04.2021 Friday 11:00 pm
3 Announcement of Final Nominations		17.04.2021 Saturday 11:00 pm
A Compaign Daried	From	18.04.2021 Sunday
4. Campaign Period	То	20.04.2021 Tuesday
5. General Elections		21.04.2021 Wednesday

Note:

Speaker Elections will be held on **April 21, 2021** if the required quorum of 50% of the total legislators are met. Else, it will be held at a later date.

Electoral List for each post will be made available in a convenient form at a later date.

Eligibility Criteria and duties of the representatives can be found in the Students' Constitution. For minimum qualification for all posts, kindly check Annexure I. For further details, kindly refer to the Election Manual.

In case of queries email to sec@smail.iitm.ac.in or election@iitm.ac.in

Prospective candidates are requested to check their grade cards as available in the workflow and ensure compliance with the eligibility criteria, i.e., absence/presence of grades on the date of nomination as mentioned in the eligibility. If any issues are found, get them corrected before the end of the nomination period. Mail sec@smail.iitm.ac.in in case of any delay to do the same.

NOMINATION

Please visit the https://example.com/html.nc.in/iitmdost/login for filing the nomination. Upon successful online submission, you will receive an automated e-mail. Election timings and venue will be intimated at a later date.

ELECTION OFFICERS



To: All the Hostel Residents through their respective Wardens for display

$\mathsf{AK}|\ \mathsf{BR}|\ \mathsf{CV}|\ \mathsf{GN}|\ \mathsf{GD}|\ \mathsf{JM}|\ \mathsf{KR}|\ \mathsf{MH}|\ \mathsf{NM}|\ \mathsf{PM}|\ \mathsf{SS}|\ \mathsf{SU}|\ \mathsf{SH}|\ \mathsf{SB}|\ \mathsf{SN}|\ \mathsf{TM}|\ \mathsf{TP}|\ \mathsf{TU}|\ \mathsf{BH}$

All the Day Scholars through their respective HoD for display

AE| AM| BT| CH| CY| CE| CS| ED| EE| HS| MA| ME| MS| MM | OE| PH | EP

- 1. The Director for kind information
- 2. Dean: AC | AR | GE | Admn | Planning | I&AR for kind information
- 3. The DR: AC | AR | AR: Acad (RU) / (CU) | The HoD: CS | Computer Centre
- 4. The Registrar
- 5. The Chairman, Council of Wardens
- 6. The Chief Security Officer
- 7. The EC| SLC through Speaker, SLC
- 8. Alumni Association | Advisors: (Alum. Affairs) | (Placement) | (Cult.) | (Co-Cur) | (Sports) | (CMGFS) | (SLC)
- 9. CLT | Gymkhana
- 10. Students' Mailing list

*Earmarks of abbreviations' are read as follows

|| Hostels ||

AK- Alakananda| BR- Brahmaputra| CV- Cauvery| GN- Ganga| GD- Godavari| JM- Jamuna| KR- Krishna| MH- Mahanadhi | NM- Narmada| PM- Pampa| SS- Saraswathi| SU- Sarayu| SH-Sharavathi| SB- Sabarmati| SN- Sindhu| TM- Tamiraparani| TP- Tapti| TU- Tunga| BH- Bhadra

|| Departments ||

AE-Aerospace Engineering| AM-Applied Mechanics| BT-Bio Technology| CH-Chemical | CY-Chemistry| CE-Civil Engineering| CS-Computer Science| ED-Engineering Design| EE-Electrical Engineering| HS-Humanities and Social sciences| MA-Mathematics| ME-Mechanical Engineering| MS-Management Studies| MM-Metallurgical and Materials| OE-Ocean Engineering| PH-Physics| EP- Engineering Physics



Annexure I

The following qualifications hold for all posts:

- A. In case of B. Tech., M. Tech., MA, MBA and MSc students, the nominee's CGPA must equal or exceed 6.5 at the date of filing the nomination;
- B. The nominee must have obtained a pass grade in NCC/NSO/NSS/NCA if not a research scholar;
- C. The nominee must not have a U, W or I grade at the date of filing the nomination;
- D. The nominee must not have been found guilty of gross misconduct by Hostel Disciplinary Committee, Complaint Committee Against Sexual Harassment or any similar competent authority;
- E. The nominee must be a member of the electorate of the post they are contesting for, except in the case of the post of Speaker;
- F. No person shall contest for more than one post concurrently;
- G. The nominee must stay as a student for the entire academic year for which they have been elected;
- H. For MS and PhD research scholars, the nominee should have cleared satisfactorily all the required courses for which they have registered for, and should have received the scholarship amount uninterruptedly as evidence of having maintained satisfactory progress in research;
- I. In case of sponsored candidates, permission of the sponsoring agency must be obtained for contesting any post;

The above eligibility criteria may be waived by a committee appointed by the Dean (Students) on a case to case basis. The same shall be communicated to the Student Election Commission by the Dean (Students) along with reasons behind the same.

